As featured on NewsNow: Football news

Everton's Howard, Seattle ace Dempsey among names in USA squad

Juergen Klinsmann has named a provisional 30-man USA squad ahead of the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

The German tactician will bring together the roster in Palo Alto, California on May 14 to begin preparing for the tournament in Brazil before trimming the squad to 23 by June 2.

Everton goalkeeper Tim Howard has been joined by Premier League counterparts Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City) and Jozy Altidore (Sunderland) while Stoke's Philadelphia Union loanee Maurice Edu has been included.

Seattle Sounders star and regular captain Clint Dempsey has been named along with the country's all-time leading goalscorer Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy).

13 players at European clubs are in Klinsmann's initial 30 including German-based foursome Fabian Johnson (Hoffenheim), Timmy Chandler (FC Nurnberg), Joan Anthony Brooks (Hertha Berlin) and Bayern Munich young gun Julian Green.

Klinsmann told "First of all, we want to thank all of the players who have been a part of the process these last three years.

"It's been an incredible journey, and everyone has worked tremendously hard. We had some difficult decisions to make, and we are very excited about the 30 players coming into camp. There is competition in every position, and these next couple of weeks will allow us to make the final determinations on the best 23-man unit to represent the United States in the World Cup."

The US have been drawn in Group G of the 2014 World Cup in Brazil, alongside Germany, Portugal and Ghana.

30-man provisional USA squad for World Cup


Brad Guzan (Aston Villa) Tim Howard (Everton) Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)


DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla) Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City) John Brooks (Hertha Berlin) Geoff Cameron (Stoke City) Timmy Chandler (Nürnberg) Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC) Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy) Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes) Fabian Johnson (Hoffenheim) Michael Parkhurst (Columbus Crew) DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)


Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake) Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes) Michael Bradley (Toronto FC) Joe Corona (Club Tijuana) Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo) Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg) Maurice Edu (Philadelphia Union) Julian Green (Bayern Munich) Jermaine Jones (Besiktas) Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)


Jozy Altidore (Sunderland) Terrence Boyd (Rapid Vienna) Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC) Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy) Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar) Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

 For breaking stories and all the great banter like us on Facebook:

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

  1. Go Ad-Free
  2. Faster site experience
  3. Support great writing
  4. Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free