My tribe
As featured on NewsNow: Football news

Former winners Gamba Osaka, Guangzhou Evergrande, Al Hilal into AFC Champions League semis

Three former winners of the Asian Champions League have progressed to the semi-finals of the 2015 edition of the AFC tournament.

Japan's Gamba Osaka (2008), China's Guangzhou Evergrande (2013) and Saudi Arabai's Al Hilal (1991 and 2000) all made it through to the final four of the continental competition along with UAE outfit Al Ahli.

Gamba defeated Jeonbuk Hyundai Motors 3-2 on aggregate following a home win on Wednesday night, Guangzhou got the better of Kashiwa Reysol 4-2 after a 1-1 home draw, Al Hilal accounted for Qatari club Lekhwiya 6-3 in the wake pf their 4-1 home win in the first leg and Al Ahli are through 3-1 over Iran's Naft Tehran.

The semi-finals kick off on September 29 with Al Hilal meeting Al Ahli in the West Zone in the first leg, the day before Guangzhou host Gamba in the East Zone.

The second legs take place in the UAE on October 20 and Japan on October 21.

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?