My tribe

Terry and van der Sar win UEFA awards

Chelsea captain John Terry was named defender of the year by UEFA while Manchester United stopper Edwin van der Sar won the goalkeeper of the year. Barcelona's Lionel Messi picked up the prestigious club footballer-of-the-year award and was also named forward of the year.

Barca captain Xavi Hernandez won the midfielder of the year award while UEFA also made a special award to Paolo Maldini to commemorate his retirement after 24 years playing for AC Milan.

About the author

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?