My tribe

North Queensland Fury v Brisbane Roar preview

The rescheduled Week 26 fixture between North Queensland Fury and Brisbane Roar will be played tonight at Gold Coast's Skilled Park.

The recent flooding of Queensland forced the match, originally fixtured for Saturday night, to be moved to this venue which has become a halfway house with Gold Coast allowing plenty of 'catch-up' matches to go ahead at the venue.

On paper, this match looks very uneven with league leaders Roar holding firm favouritism and rightly so as they take on a Fury outfit which has lost its past six outings and eight of its last nine, conceding 25 goals and scoring just three in that time.

At the other end of the scale, the Roar have not lost for 23 matches, winning three of their past five, allowing them to take out the minor Premiership for the 2010/11 season.

With inspirational skipper Matt McKay returning after his impressive performances for Australia at the Asian Cup, things can only get better for Ange Postecoglou's men who should be far too good and notch up yet another win on their way to the finals.

The Roar are still yet to lose to the Fury in five meetings and I doubt that tonight will be the first time the Townsville club will salute.

Verdict: Roar 3-0

North Queensland Fury vs. Brisbane RoarDate: Tuesday, 8 February 2011 Venue: Skilled Park, Robina Local kick-off: 7.00pm (8.00pm AEDT) Referee: Jarred Gillett Head-to-Head:/b> All matches (played 5): North Queensland Fury wins 0, Brisbane Roar wins 2 (3 draws) Match facts: - Having not lost any of their previous 23 matches, Brisbane Roar are now aiming for their 24th match undefeated, which would be the longest streak in the top league of any of Australia's football codes since 1953, when Geelong AFL (then VFL) club Geelong completed a 26 match undefeated streak. - Having scored in each of his first three Hyundai A-League matches, James Meyer is aiming to become just the second player in Hyundai A-League history to score at least one goal in each of his first four matches. The only other player to achieve this feat was former Brisbane Roar player Charlie Miller (August - September 2008). - Brisbane Roar goalkeeper Michael Theoklitos is set to make his 100th Hyundai A-League appearance. North Queensland Fury players David Williams and Chris Grossman are each set to make their 50th Hyundai A-League appearance.

Live and exclusive broadcast on FOX Sports 2, Fox Sports 2HD & Sky Sports 1 (NZ). Hyundai A-League club broadcast partner is Zinc 100.7 FM (Townsville). To purchase tickets visit www.ticketek.com.au

North Queensland Fury squad: 1. Justin PASFIELD (gk), 2. Jack HINGERT, 3. Brad McDONALD, 5. Mark HUGHES, 6. Ufuk TALAY (c), 8. Adam CASEY, 11. David WILLIAMS, 12. Panagiotis NIKAS, 13. Andre KILIAN, 14. Chris GROSSMAN, 16. Simon STOREY, 17, Alex READ, 18. Brett STUDMAN, 21. Jason SPAGNUOLO, 28. Sebastian USAI (gk) In: Adam CASEY (promoted), Alex READ, Brett STUDMAN (promoted) Out: 4. Eric AKOTO (not selected), 15. Chris PAYNE (knee - season), 19. Isaka CERNAK (groin - 1 week) Unavailable: 15. Chris PAYNE (knee - season), 19. Isaka CERNAK (groin - 1 week), 20. Matthew HAM (knee - season)

Brisbane Roar squad: 1. Michael THEOKLITOS (gk), 2. Matt SMITH, 4. Shane STEFANUTTO, 5. Ivan FRANJIC, 6. Erik PAARTALU, 7. Kosta BARBAROUSES, 10. HENRIQUE, 12. Matt MUNDY, 14. Rocky VISCONTE, 15. Matt McKAY (c), 17. Mitch NICHOLS, 18. Luke BRATTAN, 19. Chris BUSH, 20. Andrew REDMAYNE (gk), 21. James MEYER, 22. Thomas BROICH, 23. Milan SUSAK *two to be omitted* In: Matt McKAY (returns from international duty), Rocky VISCONTE (promoted), Chris BUSH (promoted) Out: Jean Carlos SOLORZANO (quad injury - 1 week) Unavailable: Massimo MURDOCCA (quad injury - 1 week)

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?