My tribe

Burns wins Perth Glory player of the year award

Perth Glory captain Jacob Burns has been crowned the 2011 Perth Glory MGP (Most Glorious Player) in front of more than 500 guests at the club's glittering awards night supported by QBE Insurance.

Burns received the maximum three votes in 7 games to finish with 28 votes and win his first MGP by 8 votes from 'keeper Tando Velaphi.

The Glory's fearless leader thanked his team mates for the award.

"It's really very humbling to win the MGP but special praise must go to all the members in the squad," Burns said.

"Football is a team game and without the support of my team mates nothing is possible."

Burns hit the lead in round 11 and was never headed from that point, collecting votes in 11 games. The captain, going one better than last season when he finished second to Andy Todd.

Young star Scott Neville finished third in the voting on 16 but ended the night with three awards. The 21-year old crowned the Supporters Player of the year, the Players' Player of the year and Clubman of the year.

Midfielder Adriano Pellegrino was awarded the Volunteers Player of the year while Robbie Fowler collected the Bobby Despotovski Golden Boot as the club's leading goal scorer with 9. Three awards were also presented to the Glory's W-League team with Alexandra Nilsson winning the Most Glorious Women's Player. The Swede also won the ME Bank Players' Player of the year< > while Westfield Matildas Kate Gill and Sam Kerr shared the APB Modular Golden Boot.

2010/11 Perth Glory Most Glorious Player final standings

1. Jacob Burns (28 votes) 2. Tando Velaphi (20 votes) 3. Scott Neville (16 votes) 4. Steven McGarry (15 votes) 5. Robbie Fowler (14 votes)

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?