As featured on NewsNow: Football news

Ex-Crystal Palace, Wolves, Millwall ace Muscat named captain of A-League Team of the Decade

Kevin Muscat has been named captain of the Professional Footballers' Association (PFA) A-League Team of the Decade.

The 41-year old Melbourne Victory great was selected at centre-back in the final XI while having the captaincy bestowed upon him for the team which was nominated from players who have competed in the competition since its inception in 2005.

Muscat, who coached the Victory to this season's minor premiership, played for the Melbourne outfit between 2005 and 2011 and captained the club to two minor premierships and two championships during his playing days.

The former Crystal Palace, Wolves, Millwall and Rangers hard-man was delighted to be named as captain of the team which brings together the very best to have played in Australia's top flight.

"It's an incredible honour to be selected in the PFA A-League Team of the Decade and I am extremely humbled to also be named captain," said Muscat.

"To be nominated by my peers, both past and present, is extremely humbling and something that I take great pride in.

"I would like to thank Melbourne Victory for giving me the opportunity to return to Australia back in 2005. I have nothing but respect for everyone who has been associated with the club and I look forward to what the future holds. I would also like to thank my teammates for their support over the years. They were a privilege to play with and it's great to see so many of them included in the PFA A-League Team of the Decade.

"Finally, I would like to congratulate all of the players who have been named in the Team of the Decade. Each of them has made a tremendous impact on the A-League and it's fitting that their contributions are recognised in this way."

PFA A-League Team of the Decade


Eugene Galekovic (Adelaide United)


Ivan Franjic (Brisbane Roar) Kevin Muscat (captain - Melbourne Victory) Patrick Zwaanswijk (Central Coast Mariners) Cassio (Adelaide United)


Matt McKay (Brisbane Roar) Carlos Hernandez (Melbourne Victory, Wellington Phoenix) Thomas Broich (Brisbane Roar)


Archie Thompson (Melbourne Victory) Besart Berisha (Brisbane Roar, Melbourne Victory) Shane Smeltz (Wellington Phoenix, Gold Coast United, Perth Glory, Sydney FC)


Alessandro Del Piero (Sydney FC) Michael Theo (Melbourne Victory, Brisbane Roar) Adama Traore (Gold Coast United, Melbourne Victory) Steve Corica (Sydney FC) Mark Milligan (Sydney FC, Newcastle Jets, Melbourne Victory)


Ange Postecoglou (Brisbane Roar, Melbourne Victory)


Strebre Delovski

Need a VPN? Or seeking to switch? Then support Tribal Football by clicking here to sign up with our official partners NordVPN. Not only will you receive the best VPN experience, but also great discounts by signing up via Tribal Football. Thanks for your support!

Video of the day:

Have your say

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

  1. Go Ad-Free
  2. Faster site experience
  3. Support great writing
  4. Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free