My tribe

Spain dominate Ballon d'Or shortlist

Spain's World Cup-winning squad dominated the 23-man Ballon d'Or shortlist, while British players were snubbed entirely. Seven of the Spanish side that triumphed in South Africa are nominated for the prestigious award.

But there was no place for any of the England squad following their disappointing World Cup campaign. Last year, Wayne Rooney, Steven Gerrard, Frank Lampard and John Terry all made the shortlist, plus Welshman Ryan Giggs.

France and Italy also had no players on the list following their disastrous World Cup.

Dutchman Wesley Sneijder, Argentina's Lionel Messi and Germany's Mesut Ozil are also strong contenders for the prestigious award, which has been merged with FIFA's World Player gong.

The Premier League is represented by Fabregas, Didier Drogba and Sunderland's Asamoah Gyan.

BALLON D'OR SHORTLIST Daniel Alves (Brazil/Barcelona) Iker Casillas (Spain/Real Madrid) Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast/Chelsea) Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon/Internazionale) Cesc Fabregas (Spain/Arsenal) Diego Forlan (Uruguay/Atletico Madrid) Asamoah Gyan (Ghana/Sunderland) Andres Iniesta (Spain/Barcelona) Julio Cesar (Brazil/Internazionale) Miroslav Klose (Germany/Bayern Munich) Philipp Lahm (Germany/Bayern Munich) Maicon (Brazil/Internazionale) Lionel Messi (Argentina/Barcelona) Thomas Muller (Germany/Bayern Munich) Mesut Ozil (Germany/Real Madrid) Carles Puyol (Spain/Barcelona) Arjen Robben (Netherlands/Bayern Munich) Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid) Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany/Bayern Munich) Wesley Sneijder (Netherlands/Internazionale) David Villa (Spain/Barcelona) Xabi Alonso (Spain/Real Madrid) Xavi (Spain/Barcelona)

About the author

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?