My tribe

Preliminary Socceroos squad for Asian Cup named

Australian national team coach Holger Osieck has named a preliminary squad of 50 for next month's Asian Cup tournament.

The Socceroos will compete with 15 other Asian nations in Qatar, kicking off on January 7, and are among the top three favourites to take out the event.

Osieck's 50-man squad includes 17 A-League players including Melbourne Victory strike pair Archie Thompson and Robbie Kruse, in-form Adelaide United goalkeeper Eugene Galekovic and his Brisbane Roar counterpart Michael Theoklitos, Sydney FC striker Alex Brosque and young Roar defender Luke DeVere.

The usual suspects such as Mark Schwarzer, Tim Cahill, Harry Kewell, Lucas Neill, Luke Wilkshire and Brett Holman were also included.

The squad will be trimmed to the final 23 on December 28.

50-man preliminary Australian squad for Asian Cup


Adam Federici Bradley Jones Eugene Galekovic Mark Schwarzer Mitchell Langerak Nathan Coe Michael Theoklitos


Adrian Madaschi Shane Cansdell-Sherriff David Carney Jason Davidson Luke Devere Ersan Gulum Jonathan McKain Lucas Neill Luke Wilkshire Michael Thwaite Michael Beauchamp Jade North Sasa OgnenovskiMatthew Spiranovic


Matthew Thompson Adam Sarota Brett Emerton Brett Holman Carl Valeri Christopher Herd Tim Cahill Jason Culina Benjamin Kantarovski Neil Kilkenny Matthew McKay Mile Jedinak Aaron Mooy Oliver Bozanic Richard Garcia Thomas Oar Dario Vidosic


David Williams Archie Thompson Alex Brosque Joel Griffiths Joshua Kennedy Brent McGrath Nathan Burns Nikita Rukavytsya Harry Kewell Robbie Kruse Ryan GriffithsScott McDonald

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?