My tribe

PFA chief Wishart clarifies Celtic award snub

PFA Scotland chief Fraser Wishart has explained why no Celtic players were nominated for the Player of the Year award.

The Glasgow giants were overlooked for this season's individual prize despite easily winning the Scottish Premier League title - a decision branded 'abysmal' by manager Neil Lennon.

None of Fraser Forster, Victor Wanyama, Kris Commons, Kelvin Wilson or Gary Hooper made the PFA shortlist with Wishart suggesting there were too many players who contributed to narrow it down to one or two.

"Celtic have had a fantastic season and I think the voting in a strange way reflects their season because seven Celtic players received nominations, they were voted for by their peers," he said.

"They didn't quite make it into the top four but I think it reflects the team effort Celtic have had because they have so many good players this season."

He added: "The only other club I think was Motherwell - Nicky Law received a number of votes as well.

"I think seven players is about as wide a spread as we have had. So many Celtic players had an excellent season that the votes were spread across them."

 The game is about opinions. Make yours heard! Join the tribalfootball.com nation on Facebook today: Facebook.com/tribalfootball

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?