My tribe

MLS announce award finalists and announcement schedule

Major League Soccer today announced the finalists for its 2010 year-end awards. Winners for each award will be announced in the coming weeks.

The finalists, listed in alphabetical order below for each award, earned the most votes in polling of MLS players, general managers, coaches, referees and members of the media.

This season's most outstanding individual plays will be honored on Wednesday, Nov. 17 when the AT&T Goal of the Year and the NAPA Auto Parts Save of the Year are announced. Voting for the Goal and Save of the Year is conducted on the League's official web site MLSsoccer.com .

The 2010 awards announcements, listed below the finalists, culminate on Friday, Nov. 19 with the unveiling of the 2010 MLS Volkswagen MVP and 2010 Commissioner's Award.

2010 Major League Soccer Awards Finalists

Goalkeeper of the Year Finalists Kevin Hartman (FC Dallas) Donovan Ricketts (LA Galaxy) Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Fair Play Finalists - Individual C.J. Brown (Chicago Fire) Sebastien Le Toux (Philadelphia Union) Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes)

Comeback Player of the Year Finalists Chris Albright (New York Red Bulls) Bobby Convey (San Jose Earthquakes) Brek Shea (FC Dallas)

Visa Defender of the Year Finalists Nat Borchers (Real Salt Lake) Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy) Jamison Olave (Real Salt Lake)

MLS W.O.R.K.S. Humanitarian of the Year Finalists Brian Ching (Houston Dynamo) Jimmy Conrad (Kansas City Wizards) Seth Stammler (New York Red Bulls)

adidas Referee of the Year Finalists Mark Geiger Kevin Stott Baldomero Toledo

Rookie of the Year Finalists Danny Mwanga (Philadelphia Union) Andy Najar (D.C. United) Tim Ream (New York Red Bulls)

Coach of the Year Finalists Hans Backe (New York Red Bulls) Schellas Hyndman (FC Dallas) Jason Kreis (Real Salt Lake)

Newcomer of the Year FinalistsThierry Henry (New York Red Bulls) Joel Lindpere (New York Red Bulls) Alvaro Saborio (Real Salt Lake)

Volkswagen Most Valuable Player Finalists Edson Buddle (LA Galaxy) David Ferreira (FC Dallas) Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthqakes)

Awards Announcements Schedule: ??Schedule subject to change

November 3: Rookie of the Year, Fair Play Individual & Team of the Year, and Goalkeeper of the Year November 5: Visa Defender and adidas Referee/Assistant Referee of the Year November 8: MLS W.O.R.K.S. Humanitarian of the Year November 10: Newcomer and Comeback Player of the Year November 11: MLS Coach of the Year November 15: 2010 MLS Best XI November 17: AT&T Goal of the Year and NAPA Auto Parts Save of the Year November 19: Volkswagen MVP & Commissioner's Award?

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?