My tribe

MLS and Mexico Federation unveil SuperLiga dates

Major League Soccer and the Federación Mexicana de Fútbol (FMF) have unveiled the dates and times of the 2010 SuperLiga.

The tournament features top USA and Mexican soccer clubs in battle to clinch one of the biggest prizes in the region taking place just three days after the conclusion of the World Cup in South Africa on July 14.

Soccer365 reported the following: 'Competitive criteria determined which four teams would represent the United States in the tournament. Based on their 2009 regular season record, the top four MLS teams (who are not competing in the 2010-2011 CONCACAF Champions League) qualified for SuperLiga 2010: Chicago Fire, Chivas USA, Houston Dynamo and New England Revolution. The four invited Mexican clubs participating in this edition of SuperLiga will be known later this spring, following the conclusion of the current tournament.

'In its history, SuperLiga has crowned two Mexican champions (Pachuca, 2007 and Tigres, 2009) and one U.S. champion (New England Revolution, 2008). All three championship games have been determined by penalty kicks. During the inaugural edition of SuperLiga, CF Pachuca defeated the Los Angeles Galaxy at The Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif. on Aug. 30, 2007. In 2008, the all-MLS final saw the Revolution defeat the Houston Dynamo at Gillette Stadium in Foxborough, Mass. In 2009, Tigres UANL of Mexico defeated the Chicago Fire in front of a sell-out crowd at Toyota Park.

For ticket information, fans are encouraged to contact the local MLS club. The entire tournament will once again be broadcast live by TeleFutura in the United States.

Groups and schedule for SuperLiga 2010 will be announced in the spring.

SuperLiga 2010 Schedule* *Subject to change

Wednesday, July 14

Game 1: Venue TBD - Boston / Foxborough, MA Game 2: Toyota Park - Bridgeview, IL

Thursday, July 15

Game 3: Robertson Stadium - Houston, TX Game 4: The Home Depot Center - Carson, CA

Saturday, July 17

Game 5: Toyota Park - Bridgeview, IL Game 6: Toyota Park - Bridgeview, IL

Sunday, July 18

Game 7: Robertson Stadium - Houston, TX Game 8: Robertson Stadium - Houston, TX

Tuesday, July 20

Game 9: Venue TBD - Boston / Foxborough, MA Game 10: Toyota Park - Bridgeview, IL

Wednesday, July 21

Game 11: Robertson Stadium - Houston, TX Game 12: The Home Depot Center - Carson, CA

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?