My tribe

Man Utd's Ronaldo to be named FIFA World Player of Year

Manchester United star Cristiano Ronaldo will be named FIFA World Player of the Year tonight in Zurich.

Ronaldo, who has already won the FIFPro and Ballon d'Or awards this season, is in the running for the prize with Liverpool's Fernando Torres, Lionel Messi and Xavi of Barcelona and current holder Kaka.

After scoring 42 goals to help United to the Premier League and Champions League titles last season, Ronaldo is set to claim the FIFA prize, having finished third in the race for last year's award.

His closest challenger is Messi, who was average with Barcelona last season but has been in blistering form since winning gold with Argentina at the Beijing Olympics.

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?