My tribe

Man City's Aguero, Arsenal's van Persie head list of PFA award contenders

The Professional Footballers' Association have released their shortlist of candidates for the 2011/12 PFA Player of the Year awards.

Manchester City star Sergio Aguero has been nominated for both the player of the year and the young player of the year awards after being voted in by his peers for an outstanding debut season in England which has so far netted him 21 Premier League goals.

Arsenal captain Robin van Persie has also been nominated for his brilliant 27-goal campaign whilst Manchester United's Wayne Rooney, Aguero's teammates Joe Hart and David Silva, and Tottenham midfielder Scott Parker make up the list.

Among the young players are last year's PFA Player of the Year Gareth Bale, Aguero, Spurs defender Kyle Walker, Gunners young gun Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, United striker Danny Welbeck and Chelsea attacker Daniel Sturridge.

PFA Player of the Year shortlist: Joe Hart, Sergio Aguero, David Silva, Wayne Rooney, Robin Van Persie, Scott Parker

PFA Young Player of the Year shortlist:Danny Welbeck, Daniel Sturridge, Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain, Kyle Walker, Sergio Aguero, Gareth Bale

 The game is about opinions. Make yours heard! Join the tribalfootball.com nation on Facebook today: Facebook.com/tribalfootball

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?