My tribe

El Salvador match-fixers hit hard by FIFA

No less than 14 players from the El Salvador national team have been hit with lifetime bans by FIFA.

World soccer's governing body has handed down the sanctions to the Salvadoran Football Association (Federación Salvadoreña de Fútbol or FESFUT) last month for match-fixing that included a 2-1 friendly loss to the US in 2010.

14 players were handed lifetime bans whilst two were given six and 18 months bans respectively. They are: Luis Anaya, Osael Romero, Ramon Sanchez, Christian Castillo, Miguel Granadino, Miguel Montes, Dagoberto Portillo, Dennis Alas, Darwin Bonilla, Ramon Flores, Pacheco, Mardoqueo Henriquez, Marvin Gonzalez and Reynaldo Hernandez.

 For breaking stories and all the great banter like us on Facebook:

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?