My tribe

Australian provisional squad for World Cup announced

The Australian provisional squad for next month's World Cup has been announced by head coach Pim Verbeek. A 30-man squad has been named including 14 players who went to Germany in 2006 plus 16 relative newcomers to the national team set up.

Verbeek's list of 30 will be cut to 23 on Saturday June 1 after the Socceroos take on New Zealand in Melbourne on May 24 and Denmark in South Africa.

30-man Australian provisional squad

Michael Beauchamp (Al-Jazira, UAE) Mark Bresciano (Palermo, Italy) Tim Cahill (Everton, England) Nick Carle (Crystal Palace, England) David Carney (FC Twente, Holland) Scott Chipperfield (FC Basel, Switzerland) Jason Culina (Gold Coast United, Australia) Brett Emerton (Blackburn Rovers, England) Addam Federici (Reading, England) Richard Garcia (Hull City, England) Vince Grella (Blackburn Rovers, England) James Holland (AZ Alkmaar, Holland) Brett Holman (AZ Alkmaar, Holland) Mile Jedinak (Antalyaspor, Turkey) Brad Jones (Middlesbrough, England) Josh Kennedy (Nagoya Grampus, Japan) Harry Kewell (Galatasaray, Turkey) Shane Lowry (Aston Villa, England) Scott McDonald (Middlesbrough, England) Mark Milligan (JEF United, Japan) Craig Moore (clubless) Lucas Neill (Galatasaray, Turkey) Jade North (Tromso, Norway) Tom Oar (FC Utrecht, Holland) Nikita Rukavytsya (FC Twente, Holland) Mark Schwarzer (Fulham, England) Carl Valeri (Sassuolo, Italy) Dario Vidosic (Nuremberg, Germany) Luke Wilkshire (Dinamo Moscow, Russia) Rhys Williams (Middlesbrough, England)

*Eugene Galekovic (Adelaide United, Australia) named as stand-by player

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?