My tribe

Adelaide United's van Dijk edges ahead in race for A-League's Golden Boot

Sergio van Dijk's late header in Adelaide United's 2-0 win over Perth Glory last night allowed him to go a goal clear on the A-League goalscorers chart.

The Dutch striker netted his sixth goal of the season when he nodded home a 91st minute Iain Ramsay cross to give himself some breathing space at the summit of the Golden Boot list.

Behind him on five is in-form Brisbane Roar youngster Kosta Barbarouses, Melbourne Victory's Robbie Kruse and Sydney FC's Brazilian talisman Bruno Cazarine.

van Dijk is now equal-fifth on the all-time A-League scorers list with 30, joining Newcastle Jets veteran Sasho Petrovski.

2010/11 A-League leading scorers list - after Week 13

6 - Sergio van Dijk (Adelaide United - 13 matches, all starts) 5 - Kosta Barbarouses (Brisbane Roar - 14 matches, 10 starts) 5 - Robbie Kruse (Melbourne Victory - 9 matches, all starts) 5 - Bruno Cazarine (Sydney FC - 9 matches, 8 starts) 4 - Chris Greenacre (Wellington Phoenix - 13 matches, all starts) 4 - Alex Brosque (Sydney FC - 9 matches, all starts) 4 - Paul Ifill (Wellington Phoenix - 12 matches, all starts) 4 - Mathew Leckie (Adelaide United - 9 matches, all starts) 4 - Reinaldo (Brisbane Roar - 13 matches, 11 starts) 4 - David Williams (North Queensland Fury - 13 matches, all starts)

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?