My tribe

A-League snapshot - Round 27

Wellington Phoenix (4) v Central Coast Mariners (9) Friday, 12 February 2010, Westpac Stadium, 7.30pm local (5.30pm AEDT)

- Wellington Phoenix midfielder Adrian Caceres is set to make his 100th Hyundai A-League appearance. Caceres' Hyundai A-League career has so far taken him to Perth Glory (18 appearances), Melbourne Victory (42) and Central Coast Mariners (22), before joining the Phoenix (17 appearances so far) in 2009

Newcastle Jets (6) v Adelaide United (10) Friday, 12 February 2010, EnergyAustralia Stadium, 8.00pm local

- The appearance of Argentine import Marcos Flores for Adelaide United in Round 26 took the number of nationalities represented in the Hyundai A-League 2009/10 season to 24, which is the equal most number of nationalities represented in any Australian national league season (equalling the number of nationalities that appeared in the 2000/01 NSL season). The 24 nationalities represented in the Hyundai A-League 2009/10 season are: Argentinian, Australian, Barbadian, Belgian, Brazilian, Chinese, Costa Rican, Dutch, English, Ghanaian, Iraqi, Italian, Ivory Coast, Japanese, Korean, Netherlands Antilles, New Zealander, Northern Irish, Scottish, Serbian, Slovak, Swiss, Thai and Welsh

Perth Glory (5) v Brisbane Roar (7) Saturday, 13 February 2010, ME Bank Stadium, 4.00pm local (7.00pm AEDT)

- Having not lost any of their previous six home matches, Perth Glory are aiming to equal their record for longest undefeated home streak in the Hyundai A-League (seven), initially set in 2007 - Brisbane Roar striker Sergio Van Dijk is set to make his 50th Hyundai A-League appearance. Van Dijk joined the Roar in 2008

North Queensland Fury (8) v Gold Coast United (3) Saturday, 13 February 2010, Dairy Farmers Stadium, 8.00pm local (9.00pm AEDT)

- Placed in third position leading into the final round, new team Gold Coast United are aiming to become the highest-placed debutant team in an Australian national league competition since Carlton finished second on the old NSL in 1997/98 (excluding the first Hyundai A-League season)

Sydney FC (2) v Melbourne Victory (1) Sunday, 14 February 2010, Sydney Football Stadium, 5.00pm local

- The battle for first position on the final Hyundai A-League 2009/10 ladder is the first time since 1988 that two teams have fought it out against each other for top final ladder placing in an Australian national league competition in the final round. In 1988, Sydney United unsuccessfully tried to defeat Wollongong Wolves in the final round to take over Wollongong's first placing on the final 1988 NSL ladder

Birthday celebrations - Chris Doig (Central Coast Mariners) turns 29 on Saturday, 13 February - Ljubo Milicevic (Newcastle Jets) turns 29 on Saturday, 13 February - Tahj Minniecon (Gold Coast United) turns 21 on Saturday, 13 February - Ben Kennedy (Newcastle Jets) turns 23 on Sunday, 14 February

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?