2010 MLS Expansion Draft selections for Portland and Vancouver

Major League Soccer held its 2010 Expansion Draft on Wednesday for the Portland Timbers and Vancouver Whitecaps FC, who begin MLS play in 2011.

Each team selected 10 players from among nearly 200 available players unprotected by Major League Soccer clubs.

Four teams did not have a player selected: Houston Dynamo, LA Galaxy, New England Revolution, and New York Red Bulls. Eight teams had two players selected, while four teams had just one player taken in the Expansion Draft.

Below is a complete list of players selected in this year’s draft.

2010 MLS Expansion Draft Selections (listed in order of selection)

1 - Portland: Dax McCarty, Midfielder from FC Dallas
2 - Vancouver: Sanna Nyassi, Midfielder from Seattle Sounders FC
3 - Portland: Eric Brunner, Defender from Columbus Crew
4 - Vancouver: Atiba Harris, Forward/Midfielder from FC Dallas
5 - Portland: Adam Moffat, Midfielder from Columbus Crew
6 - Vancouver: Nathan Sturgis, Defender from Seattle Sounders FC
7 - Portland: Anthony Wallace, Defender/Midfielder from Colorado Rapids
8 - Vancouver: Shea Salinas, Midfielder from Philadelphia Union
9 - Portland: David Horst, Defender from Real Salt Lake
10 - Vancouver: Alan Gordon, Forward from Chivas USA
11 - Portland: Robbie Findley, Forward from Real Salt Lake
12 - Vancouver: O'Brian White, Forward from Toronto FC
13 - Portland: Peter Lowry, Midfielder from Chicago Fire
14 - Vancouver: Alejandro Moreno, Forward from Philadelphia Union
15 - Portland: Jonathan Bornstein, Defender from Chivas USA
16 - Vancouver: Joe Cannon, Goalkeeper from San Jose Earthquakes
17 - Portland: Jordan Graye, Defender from D.C. United
18 - Vancouver: Jonathan Leathers, Defender from Sporting Kansas City
19 - Portland: Arturo Alvarez, Forward/Midfielder from San Jose Earthquakes
20 - Vancouver: John Thorrington, Midfielder from Chicago Fire

Have your say

Related Images