As featured on NewsNow: Football news

England unseeded for 2014 World Cup draw

The allocation pots for the 2014 World Cup draw have been released by FIFA.

The procedure for the Final Draw, to be held in Bahia on Friday, is now set with the top seven teams plus hosts Brazil in Pot 1 as the seeded nations.

As expected, England are unseeded in Pot 4 alongside the likes of France, Italy and Holland although one of the nine teams in Pot 4 will be drawn at random and placed into Pot 2 in order to have eight teams in each group.

One team will then be drawn from each pot to form eight groups with four teams in each.

2014 FIFA World Cup draw

Pot 1:

Brazil, Argentina, Colombia, Uruguay, Spain, Germany, Belgium, Switzerland

Pot 2:

Algeria, Cameroon, Chile, Ivory Coast, Ecuador, Ghana, Nigeria

Pot 3:

Australia, Costa Rica, Honduras, Iran, Japan, South Korea, Mexico, USA

Pot 4:

Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, England, France, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Russia

The draw takes place at 13.00 local Bahia time which equates to 17.00 Central European Time (CET).

 For breaking stories and all the great banter like us on Facebook:

Video of the day:

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

  1. Go Ad-Free
  2. Faster site experience
  3. Support great writing
  4. Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free