As featured on NewsNow: Football news

CARABAO CUP FIRST ROUND DRAW: Leeds face Shrewsbury; Wrexham host Wigan

The First Round draw of the Carabao Cup has been announced.

With Manchester United current holders, no Premier League team will compete in the First Round.

Relegated Leeds, Leicester and Southampton will face Shrewsbury, Burton Albion and Gillingham respectively.

For the purposes of the first round, clubs are split into southern and northern sections with all ties to be played in the week commencing August 7.

Carabao Cup first-round draw:

Southern Section

Plymouth vs Leyton Orient

Forest Green Rovers vs Portsmouth

Swansea vs Northampton Town

Exeter City vs Crawley Town

Ipswich vs Bristol Rovers

Newport County vs Charlton

Stevenage vs Watford

Cheltenham vs Birmingham City

Sutton vs Cambridge Utd

MK Dons vs Wycombe

Millwall vs Reading

AFC Wimbledon vs Coventry City

Bristol City vs Oxford Utd

Gillingham vs Southampton

QPR vs Norwich City

Peterborough vs Swindon Town

Cardiff City vs Colchester

Ties will be played on week commencing August 7

Northern Section

Notts County vs Lincoln City

Bolton vs Barrow

Hull City vs Doncaster

Mansfield Town vs Grimsby Town

Stoke City vs West Brom

Sheffield Wednesday vs Stockport County

Leeds Utd vs Shrewsbury Town

Preston vs Salford City

Rotherham vs Morecambe

Harrogate Town vs Carlisle

Burton Albion vs Leicester City

Accrington Stanley vs Bradford City

Derby County vs Blackpool

Port Vale vs Fleetwood Town

Barnsley vs Tranmere

Blackburn vs Walsall

Huddersfield vs Middlesbrough

Wrexham vs Wigan

Sunderland vs Crewe

Video of the day:

About the author

Paul Vegas

Have your say

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

  1. Go Ad-Free
  2. Faster site experience
  3. Support great writing
  4. Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free