As featured on NewsNow: Football news

WORLD CUP: France disappoint as impressive Mexico claim the win

Two second half goals give Mexico a deserved 2-0 win over a disappointing France who must now rely on other teams to progress from Group A. France: 0 Mexico: 2

Venue: Peter Mokaba Stadium, Polokwane Crowd: 45,372 Officials Referee Khalil Al Ghamdi (Saudi Arabia) Assistants Hassan Kamranifar (Iran) and Saleh Al Marzouqi (United Arab Emirates) Fourth official Peter O'Leary (New Zealand Yellow cards:FRA - Abidal, Toulalan MEX - Rodriguez, Moreno, Juarez, Franco

Red cards: None MATCH REPORT France now face the real possibility of being dumped out of the World Cup at the Group Stage after a 2-0 defeat to Mexico who had never beaten Les Bleus until tonight's game in Polokwane. If France looked disjointed and struggled to find any sort of rhythm, Mexico had the pace and quality to embarrass their Gallic opponents.

In the opening exchanges both teams looked lively but it was Mexico who tested the French keeper Hugo Lloris whilst France merely flattered to deceive.

The second half offered much of the same except France seemed to look demoralised long before Mexico deservedly took the lead.

On 64 minutes the French defence were caught square as Mexican skipper Rafael Marquez played the ball over the top for Javier Hernandez to coolly take the ball around Lloris and stroke the ball into an open goal.

Instead of the French coming out to attack their opponents it was Mexico who took heart from the goal and continued to look the more dangerous.

Fifteen minutes later and France's misery was complete when substitute Pablo Barrera burst into the penalty area and was clearly brought down by Eric Abidal.

Veteran Cuauhtemoc Blanco took an exceptionally long run-up before scoring low into the corner despite the keeper guessing correctly.

Still there was little response from France who lacked any sort of quality with the final pass as Mexico easily played out time for a famous victory. Starting Line-Ups


1. Hugo Lloris 2. Bacary Sagna 5. William Gallas 3. Eric Abidal 13. Patrice Evra 10. Sidney Govou (Valbuena, 69) 14. Jeremy Toulalan 19. Vassiriki Diaby 15. Florent Malouda 7. Franck Ribery 21. Nicolas Anelka (Gignac, 46) SUBS

16. Steve Mandanda (GK) 4. Anthony Reveillere 6. Marc Planus 8. Yoann Gourcuff 9. Djibril Cisse 11. Andre Pierre Gignac 12. Thierry Henry 17. Sebastien Squillaci 18. Alou Diarra 20. Mathieu Valbuena 22. Gael ClichyMEX

1. Oscar Perez 5. Ricardo Osorio 15. Hector Moreno 2. Francisco Rodriguez 3. Carlos Salcido 4. Rafael Marquez 17. Dos Santos Giovani 16. Efrain Juarez (Hernandez, 55) 6. Gerardo Torrado 11. Carlos Alberto Vela (Barrera, 31) 9. Guillermo Franco (Blanco, 62)


13. Francisco Ochoa (GK) 7. Pablo Barrera 8. Israel Castro 10. Cuauhtemoc Blanco 12. Paul Aguilar 14. Javier Hernandez 18. Andres Guardado 19. Jonny Magallon 20. Jorge Torres 21. Adolfo Bautista 22. Alberto Medina 23. Luis Michel (GK)

Video of the day:

About the author

Have your say

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

  1. Go Ad-Free
  2. Faster site experience
  3. Support great writing
  4. Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free