My tribe
As featured on NewsNow: Football news

West Ham winger Antonio joins Man Utd defender Shaw, Arsenal’s Walcott in England squad

Sam Allardyce has named his first England squad since taking over as manager of the national team.

The Three Lions boss has released a 23-man list for their opening 2018 World Cup qualifier against Slovakia on September 4.

West Ham United winger Michail Antonio is the only uncapped player to be named while Manchester United defender Luke Shaw, Arsenal forward Theo Walcott, Everton captain Phil Jagielka and Leicester City midfielder Danny Drinkwater have been recalled.

Gunners midfielder Jack Wilshere and Everton ace Ross Barkley have both been dropped while Liverpool's James Milner has retired, Southampton's Ryan Bertrand has been left out, as has United young gun Marcus Rashford.

England meet Slovakia in their Group F opener in Trnava on Sunday.

England squad for Slovakia qualifier


Fraser Forster (Southampton)
Joe Hart (Manchester City)
Tom Heaton (Burnley)


Gary Cahill (Chelsea)
Nathaniel Clyne (Liverpool)
Phil Jagielka (Everton)
Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur)
Luke Shaw (Manchester United)
Chris Smalling (Manchester United)
John Stones (Manchester City)
Kyle Walker (Tottenham Hotspur)


Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur)
Michail Antonio (West Ham United)
Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur)
Danny Drinkwater (Leicester City)
Jordan Henderson (Liverpool)
Adam Lallana (Liverpool)
Raheem Sterling (Manchester City)


Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)
Theo Walcott (Arsenal)
Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)
Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool)
Jamie Vardy (Leicester City)

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?