As featured on NewsNow: Football news

West Ham skipper Nolan: Man Utd equaliser was legit

West Ham United captain Kevin Nolan was convinced his late goal at Manchester United was not offside.

Nolan turned in Carl Jenkinson's cross only for the goal to be ruled out.

He told whufc.com: "It's fantastic to be part of it again. I only trained on Thursday with the boys and actually was due to have a day off on Friday, but with Nobes [Mark Noble] going down injured, I got the call and I was delighted to that the gaffer put me on.

"I was even more delighted when I scored because I knew I wasn't offside. Jenks [Jenkinson] put a great ball in. I knew he was going to whip it, so I just had to try and get something on it. I couldn't believe it when I saw the flag had gone up - I'd even started to celebrate - and I think they've gambled on it really. That's the biggest disappointment,

"We fully deserved to get a result and we're just disappointed that we gave two sloppy goals away. That's how the cookie crumbles sometimes and we'll get the luck later in the season."

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
×

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

  1. Go Ad-Free
  2. Faster site experience
  3. Support great writing
  4. Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free
×

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free