As featured on NewsNow: Football news

​West Ham's Lanzini charged with diving

West Ham playmaker Manuel Lanzini has been charged by the Football Association (FA) for diving during Saturday's Premier League win at Stoke, reports BBC Sport.

The Argentine fell to the ground as he was challenged by defender Erik Pieters and the Hammers were awarded a penalty, which put them 1-0 up in a 3-0 victory.

The incident was referred to an independent three-person FA panel who deemed he had deceived the referee.

Lanzini has until 18:00 GMT on Tuesday, 19 December to respond to the charge.

Ian Ferris
About the author

Ian Ferris

Have your say
×

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

  1. Go Ad-Free
  2. Faster site experience
  3. Support great writing
  4. Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free
×

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free