As featured on NewsNow: Football news

Valencia captain Soler: Fati told me he didn't think Gaya touched him

Valencia captain Carlos Soler insists Barcelona whiz Ansu Fati didn't believe he was fouled for a penalty earned on Sunday.

Barca were awarded a crucial penalty in their 3-1 win after Jose Gaya had fouled Fati.

In the post-match, Soler said: "The referee tells me that first he touches Ansu and then the ball, but Ansu Fati told me that it is very doubtful and that he does not know if it is a penalty or not.

"It is a situation that you have to go to see the VAR, which is what it is for, to help the referee. If he goes and sees that it is a penalty, well, but at least he goes, we do not understand it. He tells us that he will not see the penalty because he believes that it was Ansu Fati who was touched first, that he does not even need to see it.

"Seeing it a thousand times I have doubts, I don't know why he wouldn't see it."


Need a VPN? Or seeking to switch? Then support Tribal Football by clicking here to sign up with our official partners NordVPN. Not only will you receive the best VPN experience, but also great discounts by signing up via Tribal Football. Thanks for your support!

Video of the day:

Carlos Volcano
About the author

Carlos Volcano

Have your say
×

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

  1. Go Ad-Free
  2. Faster site experience
  3. Support great writing
  4. Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free
×

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free