My tribe
As featured on NewsNow: Football news

US skipper Dempsey backs Ronaldo, boss Klinsmann a Neuer fan

Cristiano Ronaldo took out the 2014 FIFA Ballon d'Or on Monday night at a gala in Zurich, Switzerland.

National team coaches, captains and a special journalist from each country voted for their top three players to elect the best player in the world game for the last calendar year.

USA captain Clint Dempsey voted for the top two finishers (Ronaldo and Lionel Messi) while national team boss Juergen Klinsmann had the third-place finisher Manuel Neuer as his top selection.

Canada skipper Julian de Guzman did not have Real Madrid star Ronaldo in his top three while Canucks boss Benito Floro had the Portugal international at the top of his voting ballot.

Below are the 2014 Ballon d'Or votes by the USA and Canadian national team captains and managers:

Juergen Klinsmann

1. Manuel Neuer, 2. Cristiano Ronaldo, 3. Arjen Robben

Clint Dempsey

1. Cristiano Ronaldo, 2. Lionel Messi, 3. Thomas Mueller

Benito Floro

1. Cristiano Ronaldo, 2. Sergio Ramos, 3. Arjen Robben

Julian de Guzman

1. Thomas Mueller, 2. Manuel Neuer, 3. Arjen Robben

 For breaking stories and all the great banter like us on Facebook: facebook.com/tribalfootball

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?