My tribe
As featured on NewsNow: Football news

TWITTER INSIGHT: Tottenham, Man Utd and Arsenal stars revel while Leicester celebrate four in Team of the Year selection

The Professional Footballers' Association (PFA) Premier League Team of the Year was named on Thursday.

While usually reserved for this Sunday's PFA award ceremony, the select XI was leaked early on social media, forcing the PFA to officially announce the side before time.

There were no real surprises in the team of the year but as always, there was a sense of pride when the players learned of their achievements.

Tottenham Hotspur star Harry Kane made the elite XI and was joined by Spurs teammates Danny Rose (left-back), Toby Alderweireld (centre-back) and Dele Alli (midfield).

Arsenal youngster Hector Bellerin was named at right-back and was over the moon that he had gained selection in such a line-up.

Manchester United star David De Gea was pleased to be named as the league's best goalkeeper for 2015/16.

League leaders Leicester City had four players chosen in the side which prompted the following post from the high-flying Foxes.

The 2015/16 PFA Premier League Team of the Year is as follows:


David De Gea (Manchester United)


Hector Bellerin (Arsenal)
Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham Hotspur)
Wes Morgan (Leicester City)
Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur)


Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City)
Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur)
N'Golo Kante (Leicester City)
Dimitri Payet (West Ham United)


Jamie Vardy (Leicester City)
Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?