My tribe
As featured on NewsNow: Football news

Tottenham sign up with SuperLeague Formula championship

Tottenham have become the first Premiership club to join the Superleague Formula racing championship.

The White Hart Lane outfit have joined the series that sees club colours adorn a 750 horsepower, V12 single-seater car, with the six-round championship to begin at Donington Park on August 30-31.

Superleague Formula organisers have now signed up 16 clubs, with another four to compete, including a second Premier League side.

Spurs join an illustrious list of names on the grid, including AC Milan, PSV Eindhoven, Porto, Olympiacos, Borussia Dortmund, Roma, Anderlecht, Flamengo, Basel, Galatasaray, Corinthians, Sevilla, Rangers, Al Ain and Beijing Guoan.

"Superleague Formula is an exciting new concept and looks to bring together two of the most popular sports in the world," said Paul Barber, Spurs' executive director.

"As a club we are always looking for ways to appeal to our global fan base, and Superleague Formula gives us the opportunity to do that.

"Some of the biggest football clubs in the world are involved and we are pleased to be joining them. We intend to be as competitive on the track as we are on the pitch.

"We hope our fans will join us in supporting the team at Donington Park for the opening race."

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?