As featured on NewsNow: Football news

Shanghai Shenhua ace Cahill returns to Australia squad as Reading keeper Federici makes way

by Tim McGlone

Australian coach Ange Postecoglou has named a full-strength squad for next month's opening 2018 World Cup qualifier against Kyrgyzstan.

Tim Cahill, Matthew Spiranovic and Eugene Galekovic return to the squad for the clash, which takes place in the Kyrgyzstani capital of Bishkek on the 16th June.

Aaron Mooy, Adam Federici and Luke Devere are the members of the squad that recently faced Germany and Macedonia to be omitted.

Mooy is perhaps the unluckiest of the trio to miss out, following a fine season for domestic team Melbourne City. Federici's omission follows the Reading goalkeeper's high-profile gaffe against Arsenal in the FA Cup semi-final last month.

The majority of the 23-man squad named on Monday were a part of the triumphant Asian Cup campaign, with Postecoglou noting that Australia will need to put in a strong performance to get a victory against the 153rd ranked nation in the world.

"We go to Bishkek with the utmost respect for Kyrgyzstan and we know that we will have to be at our best to get off to a winning start," Postecoglu said.

"No Australian football team has ever been to Kyrgyzstan so we have done a lot of research, including a reconnaissance trip to Bishkek, to make sure we are well prepared for what will not be an easy task.

"This is the start of the next chapter in our journey and we are all excited about what lies ahead over the next two years. "We've been open in our desire to make an impact at the 2018 World Cup but first we need to qualify and that task is immediately in front of us."

Australia squad for World Cup qualifier against Kyrgyzstan


Eugene Galekovic (Adelaide United) Mitchell Langerak (Borussia Dortmund, GER) Mat Ryan (Club Brugge, BEL)


Aziz Behich (Bursaspor, TUR) Jason Davidson (West Bromwich Albion, ENG) Tarek Elrich (Adelaide United) Ivan Franjic (unattached) Trent Sainsbury (PEC Zwolle, NED) Matthew Spiranovic (Western Sydney Wanderers) Alex Wilkinson (Jeonbuk Hyundai, KOR) Bailey Wright (Preston North End, ENG)


Oliver Bozanic (Luzern, SUI) Mile Jedinak (Crystal Palace, ENG) Massimo Luongo (Swindon Town, ENG) Matt McKay (Brisbane Roar) Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory) Tommy Oar (FC Utrecht, NED) James Troisi (Zulte-Waregem, BEL)


Nathan Burns (Wellington Phoenix) Tim Cahill (Shanghai Shenhua, CHN) Chris Ikonomidis (Lazio, ITA) Tomi Juric (Western Sydney Wanderers) Mathew Leckie (FC Ingolstadt, GER)

Video of the day:

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

  1. Go Ad-Free
  2. Faster site experience
  3. Support great writing
  4. Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free