As featured on NewsNow: Football news

Referee Webb accepts Man Utd's Carrick was not fouled

According to former official Dermot Gallagher, FA Cup Final referee Howard Webb has admitted he was wrong to award Manchester United a penalty against Tottenham. Webb awarded the controversial spot kick after penalising Spurs keeper Heurelho Gomes for an alleged foul on Michael Carrick.

Television replays clearly showed Gomes won the ball cleanly as United went on to win 5-2.

However, former referee Gallagher has revealed that Webb has admitted he got the decision wrong.

"I talked to Howard and he knows he made a mistake," he said.

"He didn't think the goalkeeper had got the ball. He thought that Carrick had touched the ball sideways and then the goalkeeper brought him down.

"I don't think it was an easy decision as people say it was, but it's clear to anyone that it was a mistake.

"But these things can happen to anyone and I think it's important we move on from it.

"Anyone could have fallen foul of making a mistake like that, we've all done it. Punishing him won't do him any good and it won't do the clubs any good either, because the game is over now.

"Of course he won't lose the FA Cup final. It was one decision in his career and you have to accept that people make mistakes."

Support Tribal Football with this great deal from our partners ExpressVPN. You get an extra three months free with the 12-month plan (a saving of 49%!). All plans come with a 30-day money-back guarantee if you change your mind. Click here to try now, risk-free for 30 days - and support Tribal Football in the process.

Video of the day:

About the author

Have your say

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

  1. Go Ad-Free
  2. Faster site experience
  3. Support great writing
  4. Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free