>
My tribe
As featured on NewsNow: Football news

Referee was right not to send Chelsea keeper Courtois off - Quinn

Niall Quinn believes Thibaut Courtois rightly remained on the pitch in Chelsea's 2-2 draw with Swansea City.

The Belgian goalkeeper brought down Gylfi Sigurdsson in the area just before the hour-mark at the Liberty Stadium.

Sigurdsson picked himself up to fire beyond Courtois who most of the home crowd felt should have received a red card for his tackle.

But Sky Sports expert Quinn suggested that the changing of the red card rule saw referee Andre Marriner get the decision spot on correct.

"The keeper is in a good position, but he mis-reads the curve on the ball," Quinn said on Sky.

"It looks when he is running that he is going to get it, but it curves away from him and Courtois is in trouble as it bounces away from him. He is 18 inches away from making a good, clean tackle, but the red card rule has changed now.

"It was a genuine effort to play the ball, it wasn't just pulling down someone to stop a goal.

"As excited as everyone got in the stadium hoping to see a card, the referee got that one absolutely right."

Leroy Fer put Swansea ahead minutes later before Diego Costa equalised with his second goal of the contest on 81 minutes with a brilliant acrobatic finish.

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?