As featured on NewsNow: Football news

Real Madrid's Bale joined by Leicester's Schmeichel in Football League Team of the Decade

The Football League 'Football Manager' Team of the Decade was named at the Football League awards ceremony in London on Sunday night.

The line-up was announced to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the Football League Awards with 11 players and one manager being lauded for their contribution over the past 10 years.

Leicester City goalkeeper Kasper Schmeichel, who has also played with Notts County and Leeds United, was named as goalkeeper while Swansea City captain Ashley Williams was selected in central defence alongside teammate Angel Rangel at right-back.

Foxes captain Wes Morgan was the other centre-back while Real Madrid's Gareth Bale, formerly of Southampton and Tottenham, was named at left-back.

Norwich City's Wes Hoolahan, Cardiff City's Peter Whittingham and Liverpool's former Southampton star Adam Lallana made up the three-man midfield while Crystal Palace's Glenn Murray, ex-Saints star Rickie Lambert and Blackburn Rovers' Jordan Rhodes were the three forwards.

AFC Bournemouth boss Eddie Howe was named as manager of the Football League's Team of the Decade.

Football League Team of the Decade


Kasper Schmeichel


Angel RangelWes MorganAshley WilliamsGareth Bale


Wes HoolahanAdam LallanaPeter Whittingham


Glenn MurrayRickie LambertJordan Rhodes


Eddie Howe

Video of the day:

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

  1. Go Ad-Free
  2. Faster site experience
  3. Support great writing
  4. Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free