My tribe
As featured on NewsNow: Football news

PFA apologises after Premier League Team of the Year leaked on social media

The Professional Footballers' Association (PFA) has apologised after their Premier League Team of the Year was leaked on social media.

According to the original plan, the PFA had planned to release the various teams during its annual awards dinner on Sunday, but due to the leak they were forced to confirm the selections on Thursday

A statement from the PFA read: "The PFA is disappointed that a member of the public has chosen to deliberately leak our representative teams from the official brochure of the Awards Evening.

"As a matter of urgency, we are seeking a detailed explanation from the brochure printers as to how they were able to secure a copy of the publication.

"The unveiling of the PFA representative teams is eagerly awaited by our members and football fans throughout the country and we hope that the unfortunate leak does not affect the wide-ranging debate and discussion which accompanies their normal release on the day of the event."

The 2015/16 PFA Premier League Team of the Year is as follows:


David De Gea (Manchester United)


Hector Bellerin (Arsenal)
Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham Hotspur)
Wes Morgan (Leicester City)
Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur)


Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City)
Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur)
N'Golo Kante (Leicester City)
Dimitri Payet (West Ham United)


Jamie Vardy (Leicester City)
Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)

Vyom Chaudhary
About the author

Vyom Chaudhary

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?