My tribe
As featured on NewsNow: Football news

Newcastle dominate Championship team of year

Championship winners Newcastle United boast four players in the PFA Team of the Year.

Fabricio Coloccini, Jose Enrique, Kevin Nolan and Andy Carroll have all been included after the Magpies secured an immediate return to the Barclays Premier League.

The only other clubs to supply more than one player are play-off hopefuls Nottingham Forest and Cardiff.

Forest pair Lee Camp and Christopher Gunter feature in the line-up, as do Peter Whittingham and Michael Chopra for the Welsh side.

The League One divisional team is dominated by Norwich and Southampton, with three players each, while Leeds weigh in with two.

It is a similar make-up for the League Two team with Rochdale, Rotherham and Notts County supplying a trio of players.

Championship team of the year: Camp, Gunter, Coloccini, Williams, Diaz, Dorrans, Whittingham, Nolan, Adam, Carroll, Chopra.

League One: Davies, Richardson, Kisnorbo, Doherty, Harte, Hoolahan, Puncheon, Snodgrass, Bailey, Lambert, Holt.

League Two: Schmeichel, Brayford, C Dawson, Sharps, Kennedy, Davies, S Dawson, Jones, Law, Hughes, Le Fondre

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?