>
My tribe
As featured on NewsNow: Football news

McFadden would tell ref if he was awarded penalty in error

Birmingham's James McFadden claims there is no way he could dive and would own up to the referee if he was awarded a penalty without being fouled. McFadden was part of the Blues side that was denied a memorable triumph at Anfield on Monday night when Liverpool striker David Ngog went down without contact from Lee Carsley to win a controversial penalty.

"No way, no. No way, no," he said. "I find it hard, I couldn't dive.

"Sometimes you go down when someone hasn't touched you but that's not necessarily a dive.

"I wouldn't ever deliberately dive and try to con a penalty for any benefit because in the end you look stupid.

"You might win that game but you look stupid.

"Look at the incident on Monday night, it was embarrassing.

"Liverpool got the draw but everybody knows it was a dive. It's not nice to see it."

He continued: "It's frustrating because it's the difference between winning and losing.

"It happens in the game but it's not nice when it happens against you."

The former Everton man suggested he would maybe even be prepared to hold his hands up and admit to a referee he was not fouled should a penalty be awarded in his favour when no contact was made.

"I think I'd maybe say to the ref 'look, he never touched me'," said the Scotland man. "I've been booked for diving before when I wasn't diving, but I wasn't even appealing for anything.

"I said to the referee that I wasn't diving but the referee has got to call it as they see it and they have got a difficult job."

About the author

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?