My tribe
As featured on NewsNow: Football news

MAN UTD WINNERS: De Gea joined by Smalling, Rashford on Red Devils winners’ list

Manchester United held their annual awards night for the 2015/16 season on Monday.

Goalkeeper David De Gea took out the Sir Matt Busby Player of the Year award for the third season running, joining Cristiano Ronaldo as the only two players to have landed the award on three occasions.

Spaniard De Gea had another fantastic individual campaign to be crowned the undisputed king of Old Trafford thanks to his consistently spectacular saves which have produced 14 clean sheets in 32 league matches.

Central defender Chris Smalling was named the United Players' Player of the Season, as voted for by his peers, while Cameron Borthwick-Jackson picked up the U21 Player of the Year prize.

Teenage striker Marcus Rashford is the club's U18 Jimmy Murphy Player of the Year and fellow attacker Anthony Martial won Goal of the Year for his stunning debut strike against Liverpool which was voted for on Twitter and ManUd.com.

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?