My tribe
As featured on NewsNow: Football news

Man City's Toure, Arsenal's Gervinho, Chelsea's Drogba, QPR's Taarabt all nominated for African player of the year

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) have released their shortlist of nominations for the African player of the year for 2011.

A list of ten sees four-time winner Samuel Eto'o joined by the likes of Chelsea star Didier Drogba, Manchester City's Yaya Toure, Arsenal's Gervinho and QPR's Adel Taarabt.

The nominees were revealed by Ghana FA president and Caf executive committee member, Kwesi Nyantakyi, in Accra.

The players were named based on their performances and contribution at club and national level during the year under review and the eventual winner will be declared on December 22 in Ghana's capital.


Andre Ayew (Ghana) Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast) Samuel Eto'o (Cameroon) Gervinho (Ivory Coast) Asamoah Gyan (Ghana) Seydou Keita (Mali) Kevin-Prince Boateng (Ghana) Moussa Sow (Senegal) Adel Taarabt (Morocco) Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast)

 The game is about opinions. Make yours heard! Join the tribalfootball.com nation on Facebook today: Facebook.com/tribalfootball

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?