As featured on NewsNow: Football news

Man City’s Huddersfield loanee Mooy, Melbourne City new boy Cahill in Australia squad

Ange Postecoglou has named a strong Australian squad for upcoming 2018 World Cup qualifiers.

The Socceroos meet Iraq in Perth on September 1 to kick off their qualifying campaign for Russia before travelling to Abu Dhabi to take on the UAE five days later.

Postecoglou's 23-man roster includes key Socceroos stars including all-time leading scorer Tim Cahill, who joined A-League club Melbourne City this week, along with Crystal Palace's Mile Jedinak, Manchester City's Huddersfield Town loan star Aaron Mooy, Valencia goalkeeper Mat Ryan and AFC Bournemouth pair Adam Federici and Brad Smith.

The Australia head coach said of his squad which feature no uncapped players: "This squad sets us up well for the huge challenge we have ahead over the next 12 months to qualify for the World Cup but importantly it is specific to the first task at hand, which is Iraq in Perth and then the UAE in Abu Dhabi.

"Both Iraq and UAE present challenges for us and every player will need to be ready to hit the ground running. As has been the case right through, form and fitness are central to the squad we've selected and I believe we have the squad to get us off to a good start.

"Some of our players have made moves during the off season and I'm pleased that the vast majority will come into the camp with a good pre season and a few meaningful matches under their belt."

Socceroos squads for Iraq and UAE WC qualifiers


Adam Federici (AFC Bournemouth, ENG)
Mitchell Langerak (VfB Stuttgart, GER)
Mathew Ryan (Valencia, ESP)


Milos Degenek (1860 Munich, GER)
Alex Gersbach (Rosenborg, NOR)
Ryan McGowan (Henan Jianye, CHN)
Trent Sainsbury (Jiangsu Suning, CHN)
Brad Smith (AFC Bournemouth, ENG)
Matthew Spiranovic (Huangzhou Greentown, CHN)
Bailey Wright (Preston North End, ENG)


Jackson Irvine (Burton Albion, ENG)
Mile Jedinak (Crystal Palace, ENG)
Massimo Luongo (Queens Park Rangers, ENG)
Mark Milligan (Baniyas, UAE)
Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town, ENG *on loan from Manchester City, ENG)
Tommy Rogic (Celtic, SCO)


Nathan Burns (FC Tokyo, JPN)
Tim Cahill (Melbourne City)
Apostolos Giannou (Guangzhou R&F, CHN)
Chris Ikonomidis (Lazio, ITA)
Tomi Juric (FC Luzern, SUI)
Robbie Kruse (Bayer Leverkusen, GER)
Mathew Leckie (FC Ingolstadt, GER)

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

  1. Go Ad-Free
  2. Faster site experience
  3. Support great writing
  4. Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free