As featured on NewsNow: Football news

Leeds Utd, Brighton, Huddersfield stars in EFL Team of the Year

The English Football League (EFL) Team of the Year has been announced.

Players from the Championship, League One and League Two have been named in a select XI from across the three leagues for the 2016/17 season.

Second division leaders Brighton & Hove Albion had two players selected - David Stockdale and Anthony Knockaert - while there was also two from Leeds United and one from Newcastle United and Huddersfield Town.

Sheffield United, Fleetwood Town and Scunthorpe United represent League One and Plymouth Argyle and Portsmouth were front and centre for League Two.

Doncaster Rovers boss Darren Ferguson was named Manager of the Year for leading the club back to League One following last season's relegation.

EFL Awards' Football Manager Team of the Season


David Stockdale (Brighton & Hove Albion)


Conor McLaughlin (Fleetwood Town)
Pontus Jansson (Leeds United)
Sonny Bradley (Plymouth Argyle)
Enda Stevens (Portsmouth)


Anthony Knockaert (Brighton & Hove Albion)
Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town)
Josh Morris (Scunthorpe United)


Chris Wood (Leeds United
Billy Sharp (Sheffield United)
Dwight Gayle (Newcastle United)


Darren Ferguson (Doncaster Rovers)

Need a VPN? Or seeking to switch? Then support Tribal Football by clicking here to sign up with our official partners NordVPN. Not only will you receive the best VPN experience, but also great discounts by signing up via Tribal Football. Thanks for your support!

Video of the day:

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

  1. Go Ad-Free
  2. Faster site experience
  3. Support great writing
  4. Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free