As featured on NewsNow: Football news

Katie Gill and Matildas join Ognenovski as Asian award winners

The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) has announced the winners of the AFC Awards 2010 with Australia winning in four categories, including the AFC Women's National Team of the Year (Westfield Matildas), AFC Women's Player of the Year (Katie Gill), AFC Player of the Year (Sasa Ognenovski) and the AFC Dream Asia Award.

The Awards, held in Kuala Lampur, Malaysia, recognise the talents of players, officials and coaches within the Asian region.

"We are thrilled that Australia has been so well represented at the AFC Awards, and we congratulate Katie Gill, Sasa Ognenovski and the Westfield Matildas on their achievements," said FFA CEO Ben Buckley.

"We are also particularly pleased to have been awarded the first AFC Dream Asia Award, recognizing Australia's commitment to social development through football.

"FFA is committed to working with the popularity and accessibility of football to effect positive change in the community - both in Australia and abroad - and we are proud that our efforts in this area have been recognized," he added.

AFC Women's Player of the Year: Kate Gill - Westfield Matilda and Perth Glory striker

AFC Player of the Year:Sasa Ognenovski - recently capped Qantas Socceroo and captain of the AFC Champions League winning club Seongnam Ilhwa

Westfield Matildas: Winner AFC Women's Asian Cup 2010; qualified for the 2011 FIFA Women's World Cup; runners-up medal at the 2010 Peace Queen Cup in Korea Republic and an impressive record of nine wins, one draw and three losses

Video of the day:

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

  1. Go Ad-Free
  2. Faster site experience
  3. Support great writing
  4. Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free