My tribe
As featured on NewsNow: Football news

​Kane and Bale only British players in line for FIFA team of the year

Harry Kane and Gareth Bale are the only British players included on a 55-man shortlist for a FIFA team of the year.

The FIFA FIFPro World11 2017 is decided by votes from around 25,000 professional footballers from 75 different countries.

However, a total of 12 Premier League players made the cut, including six Manchester United players.

David de Gea, Antonio Valencia, Nemanja Matic, Paul Pogba, Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Romelu Lukaku are the United men included, alongside Chelsea trio David Luiz, N'Golo Kante and Eden Hazard, Liverpool play-maker Philippe Coutinho and Arsenal midfielder Mesut Ozil.

The final 11 will be announced at a ceremony in London on October 23.

Ian Ferris
About the author

Ian Ferris

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?