My tribe
As featured on NewsNow: Football news

Inter Milan's Ibrahimovic wins top Swedish award

Inter Milan striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic has been awarded the Guldbollen or Swedish Player of the Year Award for the third time. Ibrahimovic is the first player to win the award three times, overtaking two-time winners Fredrik Ljungberg, Henrik Larsson and Patrik Andersson.

The Inter marksman was quite humbled when receiving the award.

"Now I feel that I have entered the history books," Ibrahimovic told Swedish newspaper Aftonbladet.

"There were so many fantastic Swedish players before me who won this honour and now I have arrived from lowly Rosengard to win it three times.

"It was really nice to meet Prince Carl Philip. It's not every day that someone from my background gets this experience."

The Guldbollen is awarded by the Aftonbladet in association with the Swedish Football Association.

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?