As featured on NewsNow: Football news

Fulham striker Mitrovic named Championship Player of the Season

Fulham striker Aleksandar Mitrovic has been named Championship Player of the Season.

Mitrovic won the award at the EFL Awards on Sunday night.

The Serbian's prodigious goalscoring has been key to the Cottagers securing a return to the Premier League at the first attempt, hitting his 41st league goal of the campaign at Bournemouth on Saturday.

His Fulham team-mate Harry Wilson had also been shortlisted for the award, along with Bournemouth striker Dominic Solanke.

Nottingham Forest's Brennan Johnson was chosen as the second tier's young player of the year, reaching double figures for goals and assists to keep the east midlands club in contention for automatic promotion to the Premier League.

Scott Twine of MK Dons won the League One player of the year award. His goalscoring form from midfield has put the Dons in promotion contention, and helped him claim the award ahead of Sheffield Wednesday's Barry Bannan and Rotherham's Michael Smith.

Fleetwood's Paddy Lane took the League One young player of the year prize.

Forest Green full-back Kane Wilson won the League Two player of the year accolade, with the Gloucestershire club sealing promotion to the third tier with a goalless draw against Bristol Rovers on Saturday. Newport's Finn Azaz secured the division's young player honour.

Need a VPN? Or seeking to switch? Then support Tribal Football by clicking here to sign up with our official partners NordVPN. Not only will you receive the best VPN experience, but also great discounts by signing up via Tribal Football. Thanks for your support!

Video of the day:

About the author

Paul Vegas

Have your say

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

  1. Go Ad-Free
  2. Faster site experience
  3. Support great writing
  4. Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free