As featured on NewsNow: Football news

Five FC Dallas, RSL, Toronto FC stars among 45 MLS players in CONCACAF Gold Cup squads

Major League Soccer has had more than 40 players selected in squads for the 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup.

Rosters for the 12 competing countries have been named for the 13th edition of the tournament, which takes place in the USA and Canada from July 7 to 26, with no less than 45 MLS players gaining selection according to stats compiled by

FC Dallas, Real Salt Lake and Toronto FC lead the way in MLS with five players each who will compete at the regional showcase while Houston Dynamo have four and LA Galaxy, New York Red Bulls, Seattle Sounders and Sporting Kansas City all have three.

12 players from MLS will represent the USA, 10 will pay for Canada and nine will feature for Jamaica.

MLS players on Gold Cup rosters by club (according to

Chicago Fire (1):
Joevin Jones (Trinidad & Tobago)

Colorado Rapids (1): Gabriel Torres (Panama)

Columbus Crew SC (1): Kevan George (Trinidad & Tobago)

D.C. United (1): Michael Seaton (Jamaica)

FC Dallas (5): Tesho Akindele (Canada), Kyle Bekker (Canada), Moises Hernandez (Guatemala), Blas Perez (Panama), Je-Vaughn Watson (Jamaica)

Houston Dynamo (4): Brad Davis (USA), Giles Barnes (Jamaica), Oscar Boniek Garcia (Honduras), Jermaine Taylor (Jamaica)

LA Galaxy (3): Omar Gonzalez (USA), Jaime Penedo (Panama), Gyasi Zardes (USA)

Montreal Impact (1): Maxim Tissot (Canada)

New York City FC (1): Mix Diskerud (USA)

New York Red Bulls (3): Kemar Lawrence (Jamaica), Roy Miller (Costa Rica), Karl Ouimette (Canada)

Orlando City (2): Darwin Ceren (El Salvador), Cyle Larin (Canada)

Philadelphia Union (1): Andre Blake (Jamaica)

Portland Timbers (1): Alvas Powell (Jamaica)

Real Salt Lake (5): Kyle Beckerman (USA), Demar Phillips (Jamaica), Nick Rimando (USA), Alvaro Saborio (Costa Rica), Elias Vasquez (Guatemala)

San Jose Earthquakes (2): Cordell Cato (Trinidad & Tobago), Chris Wondolowski (USA)

Seattle Sounders (3):Clint Dempsey (USA), Brad Evans (USA), Marco Pappa (Guatemala)

Sporting Kansas City (3):Marcel de Jong (Canada), Soni Mustivar (Haiti), Graham Zusi (USA)

Toronto FC (5): Jozy Altidore (USA), Michael Bradley (USA), Ashtone Morgan (Canada), Jonathan Osorio (Canada), Quillan Roberts (Canada)

Vancouver Whitecaps (2): Darren Mattocks (Jamaica), Russell Teibert (Canada)

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

  1. Go Ad-Free
  2. Faster site experience
  3. Support great writing
  4. Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free