As featured on NewsNow: Football news

​FIFA reveals Women's World Cup 2023 prospective hosts

Following the unanimous decision by the Fifa council to increase the number of teams taking part in the FIFA Women's World Cup from 24 to 32 as of 2023, a total of ten member associations (MAs) have expressed interest in hosting the event.

Belgian Football Association

Argentinian Football Association

Football Federation Australia

Bolivian Football Association

Brazilian Football Association

Colombian Football Association

Japan Football Association

Korea Football Association (expressing interest in a joint bid with DPR Korea Football Association)

New Zealand Football

South African Football Association

All ten MAs have until 2 September 2019 to confirm their participation. Furthermore, up until the deadline for bid submissions, any member association wishing to join an existing bid will be permitted to do so provided that it also submits a bidding registration to FIFA.

3 September 2019: FIFA to dispatch the bidding and hosting documents (including updated detailed hosting requirements) to bidding member associations

13 December 2019: submission of the bid book, the signed hosting agreement and all other hosting and bidding documents to FIFA

January/February 2020: expected official inspection visits by FIFA

May 2020: expected appointment date of the host(s) by FIFA

Need a VPN? Or seeking to switch? Then support Tribal Football by clicking here to sign up with our official partners NordVPN. Not only will you receive the best VPN experience, but also great discounts by signing up via Tribal Football. Thanks for your support!

Video of the day:

Have your say

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

  1. Go Ad-Free
  2. Faster site experience
  3. Support great writing
  4. Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free