My tribe
As featured on NewsNow: Football news

CSKA's Honda and Dortmund's Kagawa on Asian player of the year shortlist

Official release from the Asian Football Confederation

AFC has announced the second shortlist of contenders for the 2011 AFC Player of the Year award.

Japanese striker Shinji Kagawa, Iran's Andranik Teymourian and Bahrain forward Ismaeel Abdullatif have found a place in the top ten.

Japan, Iran and Korea Republic now have two players each in the list while Bahrain, UAE, Saudi Arabia and Uzbekistan have a player each.

Hadi Aghili (Iran), Ismail Matar (UAE), Keisuke Honda (Japan), Koo Ja-cheol (Korea Republic), Mohammed Noor (Saudi Arabia) and former winner Server Djeparov (Uzbekistan) have maintained their places in the list.

The AFC Player of the Year award will be presented at a grand ceremony on November 23, 2011, at the Mandarin Oriental, Kuala Lumpur.


Andranik Teymourian (Iran) Hadi Aghily (Iran) Ismaeel Abdullatif (Bahrain) Ismail Matar (UAE) Keisuke Honda (Japan) Koo Ja-cheol (Korea Republic) Mohammed Noor (Saudi Arabia) Server Djeparov (Uzbekistan) Shinji Kagawa (Japan) Yeom Ki-hun (Korea Republic)

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?