My tribe
As featured on NewsNow: Football news

Combined Olyroos and Young Socceroos squad for Melbourne training camp announced

Qantas Olyroos Head Coach Aurelio Vidmar and Qantas Young Socceroos Head Coach Jan Versleijen today announced a joint 28-player squad that will go into a training camp at the Bundoora Campus of La Trobe University in Melbourne from the 25th to 30th April 2011.

As part of the camp, the Qantas Olyroos will play a training match against Melbourne Victory XI on Friday morning and the Qantas Young Socceroos will face Melbourne Heart XI on Friday afternoon.

Perth Glory defender Scott Neville is the only new player added to the squad that recently gathered at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra following his return to Australia after training with English Championship club Portsmouth. Injuries have prevented Ben Halloran, Mate Dugandzic and Kliment Taseski rejoining the squad, whilst Ante Drazina has not been re-selected.

Aurelio Vidmar knows that with the first of the 2012 London Olympic Games Asian Qualifiers against Yemen less than two months away, every moment together is crucial for his team's preparation.

"Following the last camp, we now know where the players are physically and what we need to work on.

"For this camp we will be looking to ramp up the intensity to take our preparations to the next level.

"It will also be a fantastic hit-out against Melbourne Victory to test ourselves at the end of the week," concluded Vidmar.

Qantas Olyroos and Qantas Young Socceroos - Combined Squad ListMelbourne Camp - 25 to 30 April 2011

Matthew Acton (gk) (Brisbane Roar) Mustafa Amini (Central Coast Mariners) Terry Antonis (Sydney FC) Eli Babalj (Melbourne Heart) Jake Barker-Daish (Gold Coast United) Aziz Behich (Melbourne Heart) Mark Birighitti (gk) (Adelaide United) Brian Bran (Oakleigh Cannons) Oliver Bozanic (Central Coast Mariners) Daniel Bowles (Brisbane Roar) Sam Gallagher (Central Coast Mariners) Jason Geria (AIS) Curtis Good (Melbourne Heart) Brendan Hamill (Melbourne Heart) Jack Hingert (Dandenong Thunder) Jason Hoffman (Melbourne Heart) Bernie Ibini-Isei (Central Coast Mariners) Marko Jesic (Newcastle Jets) Golgol Mebrahtu (Gold Coast United) Tahj Minniecon (Gold Coast United) Scott Neville (Perth Glory) Mitch Nichols (Brisbane Roar) Mirjan Pavlovic (Wellington Phoenix) Andrew Redmayne (gk) (Brisbane Roar) Mathew Ryan (gk) (Central Coast Mariners) Trent Sainsbury (Central Coast Mariners) James Virgili (Newcastle Jets) Rocky Visconte (Brisbane Roar)

About the author

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?