As featured on NewsNow: Football news

Broich, Del Piero top voting for A-League All-Stars

Brisbane Roar star Thomas Broich and departing Sydney FC ace Alessandro Del Piero have topped fans voting for the 2014 FOXTEL A-League All-Stars squad.

The A-League select will take on Italian champions Juventus at ANZ Stadium in Sydney on August 10 with supporters of the national competition given the task of picking a preliminary 32-man squad.

More than 50,000 votes were cast by A-League fans who had the option choose from all 10 A-League clubs in picking 15 players for their team in four positions - goalkeeper, defenders, midfielders and forwards.

Broich and Del Piero were at the top of voting ahead of Adelaide United goalkeeper Eugene Galekovic, Newcastle Jets striker Adam Taggart and Brisbane Roar defender Ivan Franjic.

The second stage of fan voting on the final 16 players for the A-League All Stars is now open at the A-League's official website.

FOXTEL A-League All Stars Head Coach Josep Gombau will then use his voting right to include his four wild card selections to make up the 20-man squad to face Juventus FC on 10 August.

FFA CEO David Gallop said the All Stars preliminary squad captured the quality and excitement on show in the Hyundai A-League.

"The squad is packed full of star performers who light up the competition each week," said Gallop. "The fans have shown they love the players who turn on the style and make the A-League such great entertainment.

"I think Josep Gombau will have an array of talent to choose from when it comes to facing Juventus in August."

32-man A-League All-Stars preliminary squad


Eugene Galekovic - Adelaide United Michael Theo - Brisbane Roar Ante Covic - Western Sydney Wanderers


Michael Zullo - Adelaide United Ivan Franjic - Brisbane Roar Matt Smith - Brisbane Roar Josh Rose - Central Coast Mariners Storm Roux - Central Coast Mariners Aziz Behich - Melbourne Heart Sebastian Ryall - Sydney FC Sasa Ognenovski - Sydney FC Matthew Spiranovic - Western Sydney Wanderers Nikolai Topor-Stanley - Western Sydney Wanderers


Marcelo Carrusca - Adelaide United Fabio Ferreira - Adelaide United Luke Brattan - Brisbane Roar Thomas Broich - Brisbane Roar Matt McKay - Brisbane Roar Gui Finkler - Melbourne Victory Mark Milligan - Melbourne Victory Tom Rogic - Melbourne Victory Ali Abbas - Sydney FC Youssouf Hersi - Perth Glory


Alessandro Del PieroSergio Cirio - Adelaide United Bernie Ibini - Central Coast Mariners David Williams - Melbourne Heart Besart Berisha - Melbourne VictoryArchie Thompson - Melbourne VictoryJames Troisi - Melbourne VictoryAdam Taggart - Newcastle Jets Tom Juric - Western Sydney Wanderers

 For breaking stories and all the great banter like us on Facebook:

Need a VPN? Or seeking to switch? Then support Tribal Football by clicking here to sign up with our official partners NordVPN. Not only will you receive the best VPN experience, but also great discounts by signing up via Tribal Football. Thanks for your support!

Video of the day:

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

  1. Go Ad-Free
  2. Faster site experience
  3. Support great writing
  4. Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free