As featured on NewsNow: Football news

ASIAN CUP: Crystal Palace's Jedinak, Leverkusen's Kruse, West Brom's Davidson named in Socceroos squad

Ange Postecoglou has named his 23-man Australia squad for the 2015 Asian Football Confederation (AFC) Asian Cup.

The Socceroos will host the tournament in January in five cities around Australia with fixtures to take place in Melbourne, Sydney, Brisbane, Canberra and Newcastle.

Postecoglou has named a fairly strong squad for the tournament in which his side will take on Kuwait, Oman and South Korea, including Crystal Palace star Mile Jedinak who will captain the team.

Joining Jedinak are veteran Socceroos Tim Cahill (New York Red Bulls) and Mark Bresciano (Al-Gharafa), Bayer Leverkusen winger Robbie Kruse, West Bromwich Albion left-back Jason Davidson, FC Ingolstadt forward Mathew Leckie and Club Brugge goalkeeper Mat Ryan.

Postecoglou retains no less than 16 players who joined him in Brazil for the 2014 FIFA World Cup (Bresciano, Cahill, Davidson, Franjic, Galekovic, Jedinak, Langerak, Leckie, Luongo, McKay, Milligan, Oar, Ryan, Spiranovic, Troisi & Wilkinson).

"It's been almost six months in the making since the FIFA World Cup," Postecoglou said.

"We've had a series of games where there have been some pretty clear objectives, particularly in terms of broadening the pool and seeing whether we could get some better balance in the squad and more depth.

"In the end, I'm pretty pleased with the 23 we've ended up with, there's a good combination of the core of the group that went to the FIFA World Cup, there's some experience there, but also a sprinkling of guys who will enhance the squad we took to the FIFA World Cup."

Australia begin their Group A campaign against Kuwait at AAMI Park on January 9, four days before meeting Oman at Sydney's ANZ Stadium, prior to the much-anticipated clash with South Korea in Brisbane on January 17.

Australia squad for 2015 AFC Asian Cup


Mathew Ryan (Club Brugge, BEL) Mitch Langerak (Borussia Dortmund, GER) Eugene Galekovic (Adelaide United)


Ivan Franjic (Torpedo Moscow, RUS) Aziz Behich (Bursaspor, TUR) Matthew Spiranovic (Western Sydney Wanderers) Jason Davidson (West Bromwich Albion, ENG) Chris Herd (Aston Villa, ENG) Trent Sainsbury (PEC Zwolle, NED) Alex Wilkinson (Jeonbuk, KOR)


Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory) Massimo Luongo (Swindon Town, ENG) Tommy Oar (FC Utrecht, NED) James Troisi (Zulte-Waregem, BEL) Mile Jedinak (capt.) (Crystal Palace, ENG) Terry Antonis (Sydney FC) Matt McKay (Brisbane Roar) Mark Bresciano (vice-capt.) (Al-Gharafa, QAT)


Tim Cahill (vice-capt.) (New York Red Bulls, USA) Mathew Leckie (FC Ingolstadt, GER) Tomi Juric (Western Sydney Wanderers) Robbie Kruse (Bayer Leverkusen, GER) Nathan Burns (Wellington Phoenix)

 For breaking stories and all the great banter like us on Facebook:

Need a VPN? Or seeking to switch? Then support Tribal Football by clicking here to sign up with our official partners NordVPN. Not only will you receive the best VPN experience, but also great discounts by signing up via Tribal Football. Thanks for your support!

Video of the day:

Andrew Slevison
About the author

Andrew Slevison

Have your say

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

  1. Go Ad-Free
  2. Faster site experience
  3. Support great writing
  4. Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free

Subscribe and go ad-free

For only $10 a year

Subscribe now
Launch Offer: 2 months free