My tribe
As featured on NewsNow: Football news

Arsenal's Arteta: Cazorla no diver

Mikel Arteta insists Arsenal teammate Santi Cazorla is no diver.

Cazorla was at the centre of a storm at the Emirates Stadium when he went to ground after a challenge from West Bromwich Albion's Steven Reid in the first half, resulting in the award of a penalty by referee Mike Jones.

"Santi was saying that he felt something. If there is a little (contact), it is (still) contact. The ref makes decisions, some right and some wrong," Arteta told reporters.

"For me, it is not right to dive. Santi is not a player who dives. He has taken a lot this year because of the way he plays and if he has done it (it is) because he felt something and changed direction, but he is not that type of player."

About the author

Tribal Football Staff

Have your say
  • Add your favourite leagues and clubs
  • Build your own personal news stream
  • Easily share your favourite stories
  • Connect with what your friends are saying

Select your favourite
leagues and clubs
to get started.

Already part of MyTribe?